βAbout The Whole truth foods
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Whole foods started in 2018 and based out of Mumbai. It is a series B company with funding of around $22M with ~150 employees.
The Whole Truth Foods is an internet first brand offering multi-category healthy snacks.
The product catalog includes energy bars, protein powder, spreads, chocolates, peanut butters, and more. The company claims that the products are gluten-free, sugar-free, preservatives- free.
Product is present in mobile web and desktop web.
Product was not present as android app.
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Product sold on:β
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Product details -
The Whole Truth foods sells Protein bars, Protein powder, Energy bars, Chocolates, Peanut butter and Muesli
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Products are available at different price points based on size and qty.
Option of bundling of product available at discounted rates.
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The user flow from selection to buying is intuitive and quick -
User selects category β Select Product β Add to cart β Checkout
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The Whole Truth Foods also has a section βlearnβ for brand awareness. Learn section includes:
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Ads/Marketing campaign -
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FB ad
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Google search
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Referral program
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Offers within website -
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Findings from User research using surveys and online reviews -
Who would buy this -
Health conscious adults and teens. Age 15-70. All genders.
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Need - Folks involved in High workout activity level
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Want - Folks with a sedentary lifestyle or moderate workout activity level
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Why would users buy this -
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Influencers | Blockers |
Clean ingredients | Lack of Brand awareness |
Help remain fit | Already using different brand |
Trust | Price beyond budget |
Packaging | Hesitation to use packaged protein products due to existing myths |
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β | ICP 1 | ICP 2 | ICP 3 |
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Ideal customer profile name | Rahul | Meera | Meenal |
Age | 25-35 | 18-24 | 35-45 |
Goals | Build muscle | Stay fit | Stay fit |
Income levels | >1 lakh/month | 30-50k/month or None (if student) | >1 lakh/month |
Gender | Male | Female | Female |
Location | Tier 1, 2 city | Tier 1, 2 city | Tier 1, 2 city |
Companies | Startups, Large MNCs, Self employed | Startups, Large MNCs, Self employed | MNCs. Startups |
Marital Status | Married/Unmarried | Married/Unmarried | Married |
Where do they spend time? | Work, Gym, Social media apps, OTT, Shopping | College, Social media apps, OTT, Shopping, Partying | Work, Household chores, Shopping |
Pain points | Limited healthy snack options, unwillingness to change existing protein supplement brand | Myths around protein powders and bars, lack of trustworthy brands | Not enough time to workout, lack of healthy snack options |
Current solution | Buy existing protein powder/bars | Buy protein bars, energy bars. Natural sources (Paneer, sprouts etc.) | Consume homemade food |
Need/Want | Need | Want | Want |
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Parameter | ICP 1 | ICP 2 | ICP 3 |
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Adoption Curve | Low | Low | Moderate |
Frequency of use case | High | Moderate | Moderate |
Appetite to Pay | High | Moderate | High |
Total Addressable market | High | High | Moderate |
Distribution Potential | High | Moderate | Moderate |
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Based on above assumptions, ICP 1 and ICP 2 are best suited to be considered for acquisition.
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Before delving into the competitors, we need to detail out the subcategories whole foods operates.
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Amazon search results for Mumbai location
Keyword | Protein Bar | Protein powder | Healthy protein snacks | Zero sugar protein product | Healthy Peanut butter | Muesli |
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Banner space | MuscleBlaze | MuscleBlaze | Kilobeaters | Kapiva | Myfitness | Tata Soulful |
1st row | The Whole Truth Foods | MuscleBlaze, ON | Yogabar, Protinex, Bon ISO | Bon ISO, HealthifyMe, Pentasure | Myfitness, Pintola, The butternut co | Yogabar, Saffola, Kelloggβs |
2nd row | Yogabar, Ritebite, Whey91 | AS-IT-IS, MB, ON | Ritebite, Taali Protein, Protein chef | Fe Nutrition, Phab protein bars | The Whole Truth, Pintola, | Kelloggβs |
3rd Row | MuscleBlaze, Ritebite | Nutrabay, Kapiva | MuscleBlaze, Omay foods | Pentasure, Bon ISO | Pintola, Myfitness | Yogabar, Kelloggβs |
Top players based on search results | MuscleBlaze, Yogabar, The Whole Truth, Ritebite | MuscleBlaze, ON, Nutrabay | Yogabar, Ritebite, Kilobeaters | Pentasure, Bon ISO | Myfitness, Pintola, The Whole truth | Kelloggβs, Yogabar |
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Key Findings -
Google search
Keyword | Protein Bar | Protein powder | Healthy protein snacks | Zero sugar protein product | Healthy Peanut butter | Muesli |
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Ritebite | MuscleBlaze, | Yogabar | Hyp Protein snacks | Pintola | Kelloggβs | |
The Whole Truth | GNC | Ritebite | The Whole Truth protein bars | Myfitness | Tata Soulful | |
MuscleBlaze | ON | The Whole Truth | Ritebite | Saffola | MuscleBlaze | |
As-it-is nutrition | Nutrabay | Others | Yogabar | MuscleBlaze | Baggry |
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Key Findings
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Blinkit | Location - Ahmedabad (Tier 2 city)
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Key findings
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Zepto | Location - Bengaluru (Tier 1 City)
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Key findings:
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To summarize -
Details of top competitors
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RiteBite Protein Bar
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Summary
β | Whole Truth Foods | MuscleBlaze | Yogabar | Ritebite |
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Search Optimization | Moderate | High | High | High |
Price Point | High | Moderate | Moderate | Moderate |
Content quality | High | High | Moderate | Moderate |
Product Ratings | 4+ | 4+ | 4+ | 3.5+ |
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We would use top down approach β
Total population of India - 140 cr
Urban population β 50cr which is 35%
Age criteria - Ideally above 18 to 60. which would be ~68% of population which is 34cr
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Average revenue per user calculation:
Avg price of a protein bar on website - Rs. 600
Highest priced product on website - Rs. 3000
Assuming repeat rate of 2 and users trying out low priced skus in the start, the avg price would be Rs. 1000 times 2 i.e repeat rate
So ARPU = Rs. 2000
34*2000
= Rs. 68000 crores
Total serviceable market
Based on our findings from user research, healthy snacks are more likely to be used by people with
Urban population (tier 1 and tier 2 places) India - 34cr
20% population would fall in middle, high and ultra high income tier β 7cr
With the growing trend of health consciousness, we can assume that people with the means to spend will prefer healthy snacks over mass produced snacks.
Access to internet and social media can be assumed to be close to 100% in Tier 1 and Tier 2 cities for those with disposable income.
Thus, this set of 7cr can be our serviceable market -
Assuming avg revenue per user to be Rs. 2000, total serviceable market comes up to Rs. 14000cr
Serviceable obtainable market
Top players in healthy snacks and protein bar/protein powder are -
With multiple players in the category, whole truth can aim to capture a 10% market share, itβs Servicable obtainable market would be 140cr
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Core value proposition - Why buy from me?
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Job | Goal |
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Functional | Consume clean, free from sugar, healthy snack to satiate hunger and an alternative from processed foods |
Personal | Whole truth food will help me increase my protein intake and build my body |
Financial | Being fit and healthy will build my immunity and prevent me from getting sick, thus saving medical costs |
Social | I want to perceived as health conscious individual and look good by being fit |
Which stage does whole truth lie in?
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Lets understand this by data -
Company has good reviews on all ecommerce platforms and from user surveys.
The Whole truth foods has good presence in social media and the founder is focused on building a personal brand.
This indicated consumers like the product and we have achieved a product market fit β
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With 36cr of revenue in sales, The Whole Truth foods is currently set for early scaling phase by increasing itβs market share and filling the gaps between itself and competitors.
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Web traffic analysis
Most of the web traffic comes via organic traffic with little paid traffic. This can be attributed due to company being in PMF stage in last couple of years.
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Channel name | Cost | Flexibility | Effort | Lead time | Scale |
Organic | Low | High | Low | Low | High |
Paid ads | High | High | Moderate | Low | High |
Content Loops | Moderate | Moderate | Low | High | Moderate |
Referral | Low | Moderate | High | High | Moderate |
Product Integration | High | Low | High | Moderate | Moderate |
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Based on above prioritization and web traffic analysis and Whole Truth Foods being in early scaling stage we choose the below methodologies to acquire customers -
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Letβs start with Search volume comparison of different keywords
Type of search | Keyword | Search volume (avg monthly) | Difficulty to rank on seo | Avg cost per click | Projected Click through rate |
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Use case | protein bar | 17k | Low | Low | 92% |
healthy protein snack | 10k | Medium | Medium | 70% | |
best protein powder | 25k | Low | Low | 90% | |
peanut butter | 17k | Low | Low | 92% | |
Your product | Whole Truth protein bar | 3k | Low | Low | 85% |
Whole truth protein powder review | 1k | Medium | Medium | 70% | |
is Whole Truth safe | 3k | Low | Low | 85% | |
Whole Truth peanut butter | 1k | Medium | Medium | 70% | |
Competitor | RiteBite protein bar | 6k | Low | Low | 90% |
MuscleBlaze protein powder review | 7k | Medium | Medium | 75% | |
Is MuscleBlaze safe | 3k | Low | Low | 85% | |
Pintola peanut butter | 5k | Low | Low | 85% | |
Use case topic | are protein supplements safe | 17k | Low | Low | 95% |
natural source vs supplements | 10k | Medium | Medium | 85% | |
where to buy protein products | 25k | Low | Low | 90% | |
best peanut butter | 10k | Low | Low | 90% |
Letβs again go through the competitor analysis to understand the gaps in search optimization
Content loops can be created on social media platforms where users do not feel that the content is scripted to sell you the product.
Reddit is one such platform where the anonymity factor adds to the trust.
Popular subreddits such as r/fitness, r/bodybuilding can help build a content loop. Below is an example
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Hook - The question asked on a popular subreddit such as r/fitness
Content creator - Reddit users who use and recommend Whole Truth Foods products
Distributor - Google SEO
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Educate users on protein supplement myths by leveraging itβs own TruthGPT
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When it comes to food and health, trust factor can take you places. Whole Truthβs inhouse GPT to answer fitness and food queries is a good way to hook users and targeting them as potential leads.
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Hook - The question asked on Whole Truth website "TruthGPT"
Content creator - AI powered GPT
Distributor - User
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Content Building on Linkedin
Linkedin is increasingly used by young professionals who stay in Tier 1 cities proving to be an ideal place to target users.
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βHook - Articles on fitness and need of healthy snacks
Content creator - Health influencers on Linkedin
Distributor - Users, Google SEO
The Ideal ICP characterizes as below -
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Basis the above characteristics, we will try to gain the attention the health conscious by a hook line about health, intending to provide something which will be useful to them.
Platform selection for Paid ads
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Cost | Flexibility | Effort | Effort | Lead time | Scale | |
High | High | High | Medium | High | High | |
Youtube ads | High | Medium | Medium | High | Medium | High |
Google search ads | Medium | Medium | Low | High | High | High |
E-commerce ads | Medium | High | Medium | Medium | High | Medium |
We have selected Instagram as the platform where we can push paid ads.
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Average lifetime value of customer = Avg. Transaction size * Frequency * Retention
Avg price of a product = Rs. 800
Frequency = Twice a month
Retention = 6 months
Avg LTV = 800 * 2 * 6 = Rs. 9600
CAC calculation
Assumptions -
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Number of Clicks= $10,000/1.5 =6666.67
Number of New Customers=6666.67Γ0.05=333.33
CAC = Budget/New customers = 10000/333 = ~$30
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Converting to Rupees = $30*85 = Rs. 2550
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CAC/LTV = 9600/2550 = ~3.7
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Given that ICP falls in affluent class, pricing information can be shared later after user clicks on the advertisement
Below is a rough creative to be targeted for the ICP on social media platforms such as Instagram
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The 2nd Category of ICP is someone who has a want for the product keeping the other characteristics as same.
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Below ad can help debunk myths around protein being just for gym bros and anyone who wants to stay fit can use it.
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Using the above 3 mentioned acquisition techniques, The Whole Truth Foods can set itself for the next phase of growth!
Thank you!
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